Potato Leek Soup

What has gotten into me over the past few weeks?!?  I say that I don’t particularly like potatoes, yet here I go with another potato recipe.

It’s just that I found such beautiful leeks at the farmer’s market! I couldn’t help but make potato leek soup.  When searching for soup recipes, I found that most let the leeks blend into the background.  In my opinion, the leeks should be the star of the show, with a supporting cast of potatoes.  And so, I created my own version of potato leek soup, with a few simple ingredients.

Potato Leek

Potato Leek Soup:
I serve this soup with a generous grating of Parmesan cheese, and a lightly toasted slice of French bread.

 
Ingredients:
5 large leeks
1 1/2 lbs thin-skinned potatoes
4 tablespoons butter
3 cloves garlic, smashed and sliced
2 bay leaves
3 sprigs of fresh thyme
salt & pepper, to taste

Slice the leeks into half-moons, and rinse extremely well, as leeks tend to hold hidden dirt.  Scrub the potatoes, and chop into small pieces.  Set the potatoes and leeks aside.

Melt the butter in a large saucepan over medium heat.  Add the leeks, garlic, bay leaves, and thyme.  Cook until the leeks begin to soften, about 8 minutes.  Add the potatoes to the pot, along with enough water to cover the ingredients.  Cover the pot with a lid and simmer until the potatoes are soft, topping off with water as needed.

When the potatoes are fully cooked, puree the mixer with an immersion blender, or in a blender.*  (I like to leave the soup slightly chunky, as it adds an extra textural element).  Once the soup is blended to your desired texture, add salt and pepper to taste.

Enjoy.


*If you do use a blender, make sure to puree in batches, and cover the top with a towel.  The steam causes extra pressure, so be careful not to overfill the blender container!



Leave a Reply

